What is DofE Award

Are you aged 14 to 24? Do you want to try something new, see the world and get prestigious certificate for doing what you like? The DofE Award is the right thing for you!

The DofE Award is the world’s leading youth achievement award in which you’ll pick up experiences, friends and talents that will stay with you for the rest of your life. In the DofE Award you can develop the activities you're already doing such as taking part in sport activities or playing musical instrument. Or, you can start something you've always dreamed of doing but haven't yet had the reason to begin. What's more, you set your own goals and plan you activities so that it is fun and challenge for you.

First of all, the DofE Award is a personal challenge. In the programme, the only competitor you have to face is you yourself. You might meet other participants and friends while you are completing your DofE but nobody is going to compare you. It is always only up to you and where you find your limits – which you can then overcome with the help of experienced advisors. With the DofE Award you will do more than you can imagine now.

When something does not go as planned, you will find yourself surrounded with volunteers trying to help you overcome the obstacles. And after everything leads to a successful end, not only you will have a great feeling about yourself but also obtain your Award certificate. This will be ceremonially given to you by a renowned person from the Czech Republic or the United Kingdom. It might even be the British Prince himself!

The DofE Award should be a true challenge but also an adventure and great fun. You can therefore choose which level of the programme you will be doing, which activities you will take part in or which goals you want to achieve.

Maybe you are already doing a bunch of activities where you could be supported by the DofE Award (school clubs, sport, volunteering, camping). Or you might have secret wishes or ideas about what you would like to do but not enough will to start doing it. Or your plans are brilliant but you get discouraged after first setback.

The DofE Award will make everything easier and more fun! In order to make use of your versatility, the DofE Award consists of four main sections: skills, physical activity, volunteering and adventurous expedition. To achieve the Gold Award, you will even take part in a residential activity. Within these sections it is possible to apply with the activities you are already doing or start doing brand new ones.

Overcoming your limits and fulfilling your goals will be the highest rewards in the DofE Award. Besides that, you will gain new friends, interesting experiences and skills, and a certificate proving you took part in the programme. This will definitely come in handy!

So that you can set goals corresponding to your age, abilities and preferences, the programme has three levels of difficulty – Bronze, Silver and Gold. You can start with the easiest level, Bronze, or go directly to the Silver or Gold level.

Bronze medal


You can participate in Bronze level from 14 years of age. The level has 4 sections in which you complete your goals: skills, physical recreation, service and adventurous journey. In the first three sections you do a minimum of 3 months activity. You also choose a section in which you will set a more demanding goal and which you pursue for at least 6 months. The adventurous expedition lasts at least 2 days and 1 night. It will therefore take at least 6 months to complete the Bronze level.

Silver medal


You should be at least 15 years old to start doing your Silver programme. The level has 4 sections: skills, physical recreation, service and adventurous journey. The adventurous expedition lasts at least 3 days and 2 nights. The activities in the other three sections are pursued for at least 6 months. If you start doing Silver without doing Bronze first you will have to spend six extra months on one of the following sections: skills, physical recreation, service. It will therefore take you at least 6 months to achieve the Silver if you're the Bronze Award Holder or 12 months if you jumped straight into Silver.

Gold medal


For starting the Gold level, you should be at least 16 years old. Unlike in the two lower levels of the programme, here you are setting and completing goals in 5 sections: skills, physical recreation, service and adventurous journey and a residential project. The activities in the first three sections are pursued for at least 12 months; if you have not completed the Silver level before, you choose one of the first three sections and pursue it for extra 6 months. The adventurous expedition is planned together with the group for at least 4 days and 3 nights, for the residential project you travel alone for at least 5 days and 4 nights. Therefore, the Gold level takes at least 12 months to Silver Award Holders or 18 months if you start at the Gold.

Got interested? Jump into the programme!

Read through the most important information about the programme and find out how to join us.

How to start

Check our videos

DofE on YouTube

Contribute to change

You too can help young people unreveal their potential and approach life with courage.

Stay up to date

The National Office of the DofE Award can send you monthly news.

Send page by e-mail

Verification code
Verification code

Please fill in at least the fields marked with an asterisk ( * ). Thank you

Tento web používá k poskytování služeb a analýze návštěvnosti soubory cookie. Používáním tohoto webu s tím souhlasíte. Více informací